The Accidental Manager

I never set out to become a manager. I have stumbled (been dragged) into management later in life. But there is one crucial element: I don’t get paid. If someone fired me, I’d be a bit miffed, but it would free up an awful lot of time. I don’t do it for the money (clue: there isn’t any); it’s not my paid job. I do it for … well, I do it because I enjoy it. I can’t quite bring myself to give it up. So, some thoughts about leadership from an accidental manager:

* Let great people fly. Boost them up, but don’t clip their wings. Chase behind, making good things happen for them. Find the right people to join your team and support them.

* If you have a tricky character in your staff team, think about what motivates this person, and nurture it where you can. Mostly you don’t get anywhere by butting up against others.

* You’re not really there to be liked. Sure, you don’t want to be disliked. But what’s your ultimate goal? At preschool it is children getting a great experience. That’s the focus.

* Get support for yourself. Find people who can help you with those aspects of the role where you struggle. Ask them to teach you to do these things better.

* Ofsted: Just bleeurggh. I don’t care. Really, I don’t. We do what we have to do, but in the end all that matters is the children’s daily experience.

They can’t sack me, because they don’t employ me. It’s a nice way to work.

This entry was posted in Early Years, Learning, Preschools. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Accidental Manager

  1. andrea green says:

    My exact sentiments regarding Ofsted, even when I was the playleader! If the children, parents and staff are happy that’s all I care about. Ofsted, LA advisors, charity commission, PLA development worker (well, we used to have one), church hall warden, the occasional parent who wants a 2year old to write! Can go hang 😉

    Like

  2. bt0558 says:

    A lovely position to be in and a lovely post. Nice to be able to focus on what really matters, to be able to take control of your own development and not to have to worry about the verdicts of those who have no business casting judgement. It is a lovely feeling isn’t it.

    Enjoy

    Like

  3. suecowley says:

    Thank you both, it is a lovely feeling. Far harder if your job depends on it.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Should You Become A Manager? | Sockets and Lightbulbs

Leave a Reply

