Only Connect

I can be the most technically gifted writer in the world, but if I don’t engage with my readers, they won’t read what I write. I have a duty to engage with them, because otherwise my words will lie dusty on a page. If I want people to engage with my writing, it must do something for them: inspire emotion, be useful, practical, interesting, thought provoking. I must speak to my readers so they want to listen to me (not harangue them about their perceived shortcomings, or pretend I am special ‘cos I wrote it down). I must gather up all the ideas I can find, sift them thoroughly, and then present them in a way that shines a light. The odd thing, though, is that I don’t write for my readers. Not really. The words just have to be written. And once they’ve been written I have no control over what people will make of them. (This is not a problem, this is permission to fly!) Because if I edit really carefully, and hit just the right note, we might possibly, maybe, only connect.

This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Only Connect

  1. nancy says:

    Yes. Just yes.
    It’s weird, isn’t it?

    Like

Leave a Reply

