#TwitteratiChallenge

Thanks to @rlj1981 for nominating me for this, despite the fact that I’ve been hiding from Twitter for the past 2 weeks. 😉 Here are my five nominations, please make of them what you will:

1. @LauraChildcare is a complete inspiration to me. She models what I think Twitter should be all about (which is sharing good ideas and spreading positivity, rather than talking other people down). Laura runs @EYTalking, as a way for early years educators to share great ideas and links. She also recently set up @NEyTCO, a community interest company for trainers in the early years sector. She organises the #EYTalking chat on Tuesdays between 8 and 9pm. And as if all this wasn’t enough, Laura also blogs, writes books, does training in early years settings and is a mum as well. *Awesome*

2. @nancygedge is clearly my twin sister, separated from me at birth, by a freak incident in the hospital where we were born. Weirdly, she reminds me a great deal of my best friend, in the way that she can mix the emotional and the practical without downplaying either one. Our kids are very similar ages as well. There is something about Nancy’s writing that shines, illuminating the tiny details, but also the big picture at the same time. Nancy is a writing name to watch for the future: mark my words.

3. Although @DavidMcQueen is not a teacher, he is a fabulous educator. His passion, confidence and commitment shine through in his tweets. I especially love the way that he talks about his family, and also that he is not afraid to say exactly what he thinks. David brings a breath of fresh air and a dose of reality to my timeline.

4. If Nancy is my twin, then @JulesDaulby is the little sister that I never had. She is an amazing SEND teacher who freely shares her ideas, speaks her mind, and is not afraid to challenge people she disagrees with. At the same time, I have never seen Jules be rude to anyone, and the way she deals with disagreements is a model for us all. I was particularly in awe of Jules when she completed the #28daysofwriting challenge, and I have already nicked lots of the ideas that she shared.

5. Some people will think I am a bit weird to include @ManYanaEd in this list (NB: I am a bit weird). My views, and Peter’s, could literally not be further apart. When people say that you should “follow people you disagree with”, I count Peter Blenkinsop as my token gesture. The reason I can follow him is because he is willing and able to discuss differences of opinion, without ever resorting to a negative approach. He has a great sense of humour, or rather, he is very good at letting other people take the p**s out of him. His tweeting style reminds me of a bewildered puppy, which I strongly suspect is an act to confuse those who haven’t sussed him out yet. He is probably the only person I follow on Twitter that I strongly disagree with. This is not because I can’t follow people who I disagree with. It is more because when I try to follow them I find them a bit rude, a lot patronising, or I feel like their egos have gone haywire and they just haven’t noticed yet. (My bad, obviously.)

It was hard to narrow down my list to only 5 names, but there you go. If you’re on the list, I hope it makes you happy (remember, Peter, that you now have to film yourself pouring a bucket of water over your head and post the link on Twitter). If you’re not on the list, then don’t panic. These chain things have a habit of including everyone in the end. You can find the rules for nominees below. Make sure you do as you’re told, as I have heard that @teachertoolkit gives a mean detention and may even call your mum. 😉

@teachertoolkit ‘s rules are: 

  1. You cannot knowingly include someone you work with in real life
  2. You cannot list somebody that has already been named if you are already made aware of them being listed on #TwitteratiChallenge
  3. You will need to copy and paste the title of this blogpost and (the rules and what to do) information into your own blog post

What to do?

  • Within 7 days of being nominated by somebody else, you need to identify colleagues that you rely regularly go-to for support and challenge. They have now been challenged and must act and must act as participants of the #TwitteratiChallenge
  • If you’ve been nominated, please write your own #TwitteratiChallenge blogpost within 7 days. If you do not have your own blog, try @staffrm
  • The educator that is now (newly) nominated, has 7 days to compose their own #TwitteratiChallenge blogpost and identify who their top 5 go-to educators are.
This entry was posted in Twitter. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #TwitteratiChallenge

  1. jillberry102 says:

    Love it, Sue! I really like Peter too, even though I often find his views at odds with mine! Maybe we learn most from those who don’t agree with us….

    Like

  2. Pingback: The #TwitteratiChallenge Collection | Freeing the Angel

Leave a Reply

