The Thing That I Love About Poems

The thing that I love about poems
Is that poems are playing around
They’re not trying to win
Or squash you back in
They’re just an adventure in sound.

The thing that I love about poems
Is nobody has to agree
They’re just words on a page
Not scribbled with rage
Tread soft now, there’s nothing to see.

The thing that I love about poems
Is the rhythm that’s hidden inside
It’s the beat of the words
That have to be heard
It is language all brimming with pride.

The thing that I love about poems
Is the shiver they send down your spine
When it’s hard to describe
The feeling inside
The image caught up in the lines.

The thing that I love about poems
Is that mostly they are not too long
So on that final note
With these words wot I wrote
It is time now for me to be gone.

Happy National Poetry Day 🙂

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

