The Marking and the Madness

My mum was a teacher. When I was a child she would come home from school with a big carrier bag full of books and I would beg her to let me help her mark them. I was desperate to be allowed to ‘play schools’ by putting red ticks or crosses on the kids’ books. (We also played ‘teddy schools’ on the stairs; clearly I was destined in my genes to be a teacher.) Fast forward about twenty years, and I am teaching my first top set GCSE English class. They write a lot – their essays are four or five pages long. Each night, I sit with my pen and go through their essays, leaving comments, noting errors, scribbling questions. I spend half an hour or more on each essay. There are thirty two students in my class, so I spend a LOT of time marking essays. My partner starts to wonder out loud when I am going to stop marking and pay him some attention. A kind of fever of joyful marking has come over me (yes, I know this sounds weird but I was young and very, very interested in their writing.) Marking these essays is not just about providing feedback; it is not even about getting my students to respond to the feedback I’ve given. It is about getting to know my students and how they write. It is about finding their areas of weakness, their strengths, hearing their voices, knowing how and what they think. It is about building a relationship, having a conversation, acknowledging their effort, and finding out whether my teaching is working.

Fast forward a couple of years and I sit down to write my first book: How to Survive your First Year in Teaching. When I get to the bit about assessment, I talk about three different types of marking: ‘tick and flick’, ‘close marking’ and ‘marking for specific errors’. This section is still there, almost two decades since the first edition of the book was published. I’ve left it pretty much untouched, as a kind of historical record of how things used to be in the heady early Ofsted, pre data days. I did bung in a sentence about highlighters but that’s about it. To me, this section still makes a lot of sense. The thing about marking is, it takes time. There is no getting around that fact. To quote myself: “Marking is a job that expands to meet the amount of time you are willing or able to devote to it.” It has, and will always be, a balancing act. Not something you should feel you have to do to excess, but still one of the many ways that you can have a conversation with your children.

Over the past few months, I have read many blogs about marking (or ‘feedback’ to use the fashionable term). Since we moved away from stressing about Ofsted giving lesson grades to teachers, stressing about the quality of feedback has taken its place. People are tangling themselves up in knots, trying to prove that one approach works better than another, based on research ‘evidence’ and on providing ‘evidence’ for inspectors. I’ve read about using different coloured highlighters, about book checks as part of teacher appraisal, about not marking at all, about new assessment systems that reduce marking workload by doing it via a computer, about verbal feedback, and video feedback, and what feels like a million other alternatives. I’ve seen a lot of people worrying about ‘what Ofsted wants’ from the marking of books. Everyone is trying to second guess the situation. When I work with trainees, one of the things they are most stressed about is marking – are they doing enough, do they have the right evidence for Ofsted? People scour research to decide what kind of feedback has the most ‘impact’ on progress. They ask what the ‘opportunity cost’ of marking is, as though we can measure an education in minutes and hours and days.

You know when you accidentally look at the sun and you end up with those spots in front of your eyes? That’s how this debate feels to me now. We have got so focused on the black spots in front of our eyes, that we have forgotten that the sun goes on shining in the sky. Teachers have always marked. Not because of the amount of impact it might have on their children when they sit down to take an exam. Not because of what Ofsted does or doesn’t want. Not because of what the evidence says about the ‘best’ kind of feedback for learning. Not because it is or isn’t the most time efficient way to improve results. Not even because the parents expect it (although you’d struggle to find a parent who doesn’t want to see their child’s books marked.) No, we mark because it is part of the job of being a teacher. Marking is how you get to know your children’s work. Marking is how you assimilate information about how well your teaching is working. Marking is how you figure out which bits of learning you still need to cover. Marking is how you tell your children whether you are happy with the amount of effort they are making. Marking is how you acknowledge the hard work your children have done. The question ‘how much time should I spend on it?’ is impossible to answer, and one that I suspect is best left to the judgement of individual teachers. But strangely, of all the things I miss most about being full time in a classroom, the chance to make marks on books is still near the top of my list.

This entry was posted in Assessment, Marking. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Marking and the Madness

  1. nancy says:

    Oh, I agree. Unless we look at the books, and engage in a private dialogue with the children we teach, how will we know them? How will we know what they can and can’t do?

    Liked by 2 people

  2. julieeclarke says:

    I also agree. I’m also dismayed by marking being made a tyranny trying to appease a variety of different audiences. It’s function is a dialogue between teacher and student. Period. I was always quite a quick marker – mainly because I decided what I was looking for and then looked for it. I was a bit of a scrawler as well – all round the page, up the margins, over the page – and I worked to no particular pattern. I used a highlighter for spelling and grammar and expected the errors to be corrected. Did I check? Sometimes but it depended on time available – and surely we must expect students to take some responsibility. People need to lighten up about marking.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: The Marking and the Madness | Assessment | Sco...

  4. Michael Tidd says:

    I suspect that this has partly come from my query about what would happen if we never marked. I don’t happen to think that never marking is a good idea, but I do have doubts about the reasons that are often given. For example:
    “Marking is how you get to know your children’s work. Marking is how you assimilate information about how well your teaching is working. Marking is how you figure out which bits of learning you still need to cover.”
    All of these could be just as effectively done by looking at work. We’ve reached the situation where people think that if work hasn’t been marked, it hasn’t been looked at. Which means that teachers don’t look at work until they’ve got time to mark it, which means that some of those valuable opportunities are left until too late. That’s why I worry about marking.

    “Marking is how you tell your children whether you are happy with the amount of effort they are making. Marking is how you acknowledge the hard work your children have done.”
    I think marking is just about the worst way of achieving these things. I’d much rather have a few sentences of conversation with a child. A child knows whether I’m happy with the amount of effort they are making from what I say, not what I write. Writing is a poor substitute for when we don’t have the time or capacity to do it in person; it’s not a great approach in itself.

    As I say,I wouldn’t actually argue for scrapping marking – tempting though it is. But I do think that when we review things like this, it is helpful to start by thinking not “what could we change about what we already do?”, but “If it was all scrapped, which bits would we be arguing to bring back?”

    Like

    • suecowley says:

      I wrote this a while back, and although I would agree that marking has got a bit out of control because of the ‘evidence’ thing, I do think it’s worth remembering that parents look at their children’s books as well as teachers. Even though I understand what you have said above, I would still feel worried if I opened up my child’s book and there were no marks on it at all. The teacher is not marking to prove to me that they have looked at the book, or given feedback, but at least partly to acknowledge what my child has written with a little bit of writing of their own.

      Like

      • Michael Tidd says:

        I would feel worried too. Not because of the acknowledgement thing, but because sometimes it’s useful to have a written record of areas for improvement for future reference by all parties.
        It’s something of a thought experiment starting point. If we started from nothing, what would we do then?

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

